Oh My Ellen!

On this International Women’s Day –  I want to give a huge shout out to my grand mentor and friend, Ellen Daigle. She’s the owner of Ellen’s Silk Screening in South Pasadena, and most likely if you’re a weekend warrior, one of your prize shirts was printed at her shoppe.

We met over thirty years ago in her sister’s garage, while I was catering a holiday party for 500. Ellen walked into the middle of the scramble space staging kitchen like she owned the place, full of smiles and compliments.  She told me right then, we were going to be great friends. She was right!

She loves everything that’s happening in South L.A. with RootDownLA and comes to all my community events. She really makes me feel good about all my side hustles building community.  She got me to lead a series of cooking classes at the South Pasadena Senior Center for these amazing teens.

We went back the next year and made a vegan Thanksgiving Celebration for all the Seniors!

She also keeps me in the political loop. I’ve been attending Vital Voices Luncheons for a few years now with amazing guests and delicious popovers and key lime pie at the Pasadena Women’s City Club. Love me some Judy Chu!! 

She’s a true community activist. She knows everybody, and everybody knows her. And she’s bossy.  So when she tells me to do something, I do it!

She hosts amazing events herself with key celebrity congress people and local leaders.  (Insert pic of Adam Schiff here) And of course, I cater!

A couple of years ago, I was getting ready to leave on my first full month holiday at the beach.  I was having some staff issues and we met for lunch.  Her advice was clear and concise. This is what she said…

” I think you should get off your high horse and take care of business.”

Thanks Ellen, I needed that. And the world needs you. Thank you for being an amazing woman with  a heart so full of love, you can’t help but share.

You are my international woman hero.



Green Wedding Shoes & City Libre

  This was super fun! City Libre is a hip new venue on the eastside and Renee at Moxie Bright Events is always a pleasure to work with!  Check out the feature at Green Wedding Shoes.

Over eighteen vendors were involved, making the day a veritable think-tank for creative genius.

Who loves mis-matched chairs??  I do, I do!!

I wanted to create an all plant-based menu and this potato tart was sublime.  Creamy, green and delicious in a short crust.

I’m not sure how it happened but Nalysia arrived in the perfect hues!

Thanks to all the vendors for putting their best foot forward.  It was a most enjoyable afternoon, and  we have the photos to prove it!

Thanks to you, Let’s frolic Together!


Venue: City Libre / @citylibre
Concept, Design & Planning: Moxie Bright Events / @moxiebrightevents
Photography: Let’s Frolic Together / @letsfrolictogether
Floral Design: Upton Grey Floral / @uptongreyfloral
Videography: Press Films / @pressfilms
Rentals: Archive Rentals / @archiverentals
Invitations/Paper Goods: Pigment & Parchment / @pigmentandparchment
Bar: Cali Craft Cocktails / @calicraftcocktails
Cake: Cakes by Colin / @cakesbycolin
Hair, Makeup & Grooming: Mobile Bridal Salon / @mobilebridal
Officiant: Rev. Dawn / @rev.dawn
Pup Care: Black Tie Kids /@blacktiekids
Bridal Gown & Veil: Vene Ai Studio / @veneaistudio
Jewelry: Single Stone / @singlestone
Tux: Friar Tux / @friartux
Bride: Chloe Damek / @chloedamek
Groom: Richard Damek /